living the questions

Last midsummer light on Cracken Edge

I want to beg you as much as I can to be patient
Towards all that’s unresolved in your heart,
And to learn to love the questions themselves,
Like locked rooms,
Or like books that are written in a foreign tongue.

Do not seek the answers that cannot be given to you,
Because you would not be able to live them,
And the point is to live everything.

Live the questions now,
Perhaps you will then, gradually,
Without noticing it,
Live along some distant day
Into the answer

– Rilke

Anne posted this, and it struck chords. I do find it so very hard to live in the present, to accept there are situations I can’t change, to ride out the emotion rather than denying it. I’m still an academic at heart.  It’s much easier for me to torture myself by overanalysing every last nuance of meaning.  I want there to be an answer to every question, a solution to each problem. Everyone’s problems; all the time. I haven’t managed to grow out of wanting to change the world. I hate hate hate that I can’t make it all better, all the time.

Half the time, I’m so busy worrying about answers, I can’t even formulate the questions into words.  Maybe I’ll give another way a try- to live everything.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “living the questions

  1. I like the Rilke.

    Living the moment is important but so difficult because we get tied up in the problems and stuff of life. But never stop believing you can change the world just don’t beat yourself up when you can’t.

    “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.” – Margaret Mead

  2. Liz

    “I want there to be an answer to every question, a solution to each problem. Everyone’s problems; all the time. I haven’t managed to grow out of wanting to change the world. I hate hate hate that I can’t make it all better, all the time.”

    Me too! So very much!

Leave a Reply

