birthday cushion

Remember the cushions?
 
Helen asked for, “Colours: Cream, terracotta. Mood: Calm, peace, serene.”
 
Well, it appears terracotta is Not A Colour I Do; it certainly did not exist in the stash, so I settled on cream.
 
I used the celtic knot motif from here. I love her little doodle from the Book of Kells. However… much as I am truly grateful for people sharing their work, I cannot entirely recommend this chart, as it’s got several errors which make it impossible to knit unless you’re confident enough to improvise.
 
Erroneous hieroglyphs.
 

 
I find cables serene and calming, although obviously others may differ. They satisfy my inner maths geek at some deep level…
 

 
Particularly knots without ends.
 

 
Happy Birthday, Helen! Hope you’ve had a lovely day, and I’ll aim to deliver the cushion at some point soon.
 

 

9 Comments

Filed under crafting

9 responses to “birthday cushion

  1. Liz

    That is amazling cabling!

  2. Heather

    Wow! I will never acquire that much knitting technique.

  3. Nell

    Beautiful. Lovely cables.

  4. dawn

    That is beautiful – a true work of art

  5. Catriona

    Once again, I am in awe!

  6. That is lovely! I love cables – I’ve been doing a lot of change-ringing cabling lately, on bags and belts and a hot-water bottle cover. But Celtic ones are even nicer.

  7. Oh my goodness! That is BEAUTIFUL! Thank you so, so much. What an amazing surprise!

Leave a Reply

