in the wild

These are the books that travelled with me this summer as I ran wild. If I had the energy, I’d tell you why you should all go on a journey and read them, but maybe you need to find your own way, and your own books. I had a couple of astute recommendations, refound old favourites, and one book lead me to the next, onwards in a chain as I roamed the country. Sometimes I found myself in the places being written about, sharing experiences until the line between my own experience and the prose on the page blurred, and I no longer knew which memories and words were my own. I particularly loved Roger Deakin and Robert MacFarlane describing their friendship and expeditions together, hearing one story from both sides. I cried all the way across Rannoch Moor, reading of Deakin’s death.

(Like most photos taken in my house, a ball of wool seems to have sneaked into the background…* Though for once, it’s not my fault. It’s Iona’s knitting. She has half a stripy scarf done, and watching her knit is still The Cutest Thing Ever)

I’ve been reading about this book swapping idea and I rather like the idea of releasing a favourite book into the wild. Findings could have stayed on the beach at Lligwy; Waterlog on a rock above the high tide mark in that deserted cove on Tiree; MacFarlane might enjoy hearing the seals sing on Lindisfarne.

What would you leave, and where?

 

 

 
 

*Oh! I take back what I said before. This is my home, piles of book, stray balls of yarn, heaps of kids’ junk, and all. I’m not ready to go. It hurts…

5 Comments

Filed under books

5 responses to “in the wild

  1. I guess you could fight to stay ( solicitors, formal separation, family mediation, I expect all of which would be helpful at some point anyhow) or trust that a home is more about the people in it than the bricks and mortar and that those people will thrive once away from the conflict zone. Feel for you lots x.

  2. Stella

    Books and wool…
    I picked up a copy of The Knitting Circle, by Ann Hood, at a school fair. I found it physically and emotionally draining, but beautiful all the same. I thought of you as I read it, you could have been another of the life stories within the circle.

  3. Rosie

    I’ve got A Hovel in the Hills, and a Scottish crofting one that’s a bit earlier. I have no advide; I rarely do, so I am just sending love instead. xx

Leave a Reply

