ration foodblog: episode 2

National loaf!

We had Welsh rarebit for lunch (1/2 oz butter, 1 oz flour, 1/2 pint milk, 2 oz cheese, lots of black pepper and mustard.) B said it was Not Nice, and he preferred cheese on toast, thank you very much. Everyone else ate it happily.

Dinner was roast pork shoulder (£7.50), potatoes roasted in last Christmas’s goose fat, mash leftover from yesterday, green beans and carrots. And gravy. Mmm, gravy. I think gravy could be a major obsession in the 1940s. I put leftover liver in this one, without telling B.

Big Girl made leek and potato soup. (“I don’t like soup…”)

Small Girl made baked apples (1 oz sugar, 2 oz raisins.) They exploded, but they tasted good all the same. “I don’t like cooked fruit…” Poor boy, we don’t think he’d have lasted long in 1940…

Tomorrow: dripping.

5 Comments

Filed under food

5 responses to “ration foodblog: episode 2

  1. Hannah

    Poor B is going to be very hungry. Is this a week long torture or longer?

  2. IT is an absolutely brilliant experiment to do though. Sounds like your girls are enjoying it, or is that just because they are torturing their brother?

  3. dawn

    That’s how my mother still makes cheese on toast – I did wonder why she did it like that.

    I’m not entirely sure I’d have survived too well on the ration diet – I’m way too fond of eating what I want when I want.

  4. I was born before rationing had quite finished (yes, I know, I’m old!), so grew up with its shadow still very much hanging over us. But dripping is BRILLIANT, rationed or not – I always feel so sorry for people who don’t “get” (the idea or the thing!) turkey dripping on their toast for breakfast on Boxing Day…. mmmm…… And your pork dripping looks as though it will be delicious on tomorrow’s toast!

  5. My mum always made roast potatoes with dripping which was kept in a white bowl in the fridge and got topped up again every week from the roast. Proper recycling! She also believed food tasted better out of well-used tins – no Brillo pads in our house.

Leave a Reply

