focus

Today I’m in hibernation mode. Yesterday afternoon’s sunshine tempted me out into the woods, but today was wild and blustery, my lungs had given up functioning, and I just wanted to hide indoors.

I spent the afternoon slicing my seven separate metre lengths of fabric into two inch wide strips (ah, the beauty of British measurements!) Tomorrow, I might even sew some of those strips together.

There’s something soothingly mind-emptying about constructing a quilt. Once the fabrics are chosen, none of the steps is particularly skillful, but it does require complete focus. That was how I got through last January and February: step by step, cut by cut, seam by seam by seam. I’m not so good at concentrating these days. I don’t think I used to be this bad, but now I’m the one reading while I knit, listening to music as I surf the internet, reviewing photos as I talk on the phone. It gets stuff done, but I miss that feeling of complete absorption, of being lost in what I’m doing.

[Tangentially linked aside 1] There was a moment over the summer, during my running away, when I was watching, listening, dreaming as a friend played, weaving melodies from strings. As I drifted, I thought she looked more herself than I’d ever seen her, doing what she loved, focused and alert, yet relaxed.

[Tangentially linked aside 2] Happier news tonight. Delivered in a way that put a smile on my face, as well as tears in my eyes. Some people just make the world seem brighter.

4 Comments

Filed under crafting, memories

4 responses to “focus

  1. Hannah

    I’m really looking forward to seeing how your rainbow progresses. Even when I feel I’m totally absorbed in something, there’s usually something else going on in the background.

  2. Rosie

    I am hibernating today. Rainy days off might as well be spent in bed. And I seem to have lost that complete focus and absorption in things as well. Except when riding, and I don’t get to do that often enough anymore for it to count.

  3. dawn

    I’m struggling because if Matty is in the living room then the tv is on and I like silence and the peace to just read or knit or bowse the internet.

    So looking forward to seeing the quilt progress.

  4. Good to hear there’s happier news. The rainbow quilt will chase the grey clouds and drizzle away…

Leave a Reply

