ration foodblog: episode 4

Milk (and morale) is running low today.

I think I was exceptionally kind in cooking (8 oz) bacon for tea.  There was almost actual physical violence over the bacon rinds and fried bread.  Most of us had mushrooms and tomatoes as well, so I could feel it was almost like a balanced diet.  The Boy is (of course) scared of mushrooms and tomatoes*…

 

Pudding was marmalade tarts and plum jam tarts (pastry made with 1 oz butter, 1 oz lard again.)  “I don’t like marmalade or jam…  Why can’t we have chocolate tarts?”  *

 


While we were at Brownies, he did his homework.  I laughed so hard I couldn’t breathe.  [Clare, avert your eyes!]

*Please note that I do not pander to fussy eaters.  I refuse to accept the blame for this child’s eating foibles.  The girls will eat pretty much anything.  They are quite enjoying rationing, particularly the puddings.  It has to be nature, not nurture.

7 Comments

Filed under food

7 responses to “ration foodblog: episode 4

  1. Heather

    Poor B. He would have suffered dreadfully living on rations wouldn’t he. HAve you rationed his sweeties too?

    Perhaps I should send him a food parcel (from the Dominions obviously) and raise his morale. Will investigate what such parcels should contain other than chocolate…

  2. dawn

    Poor Benedict – I wonder if he’ll get any sympathy from his teacher? But I do love the way he’s done his homework.

    My mother talked about food parcels arriving but you shared them with friends/neighbours/family and then they’d share theirs too. I know that cakes arrived sometimes made with butter and real eggs from a farmering relation.

  3. Gem

    B’s homework is amazing. I cracked up laughing. Poor kid!

    Personally, I’m loving the food you’re all eating this week. I’d do it! (Except maybe the liver. It might take me a while to work up to that one, I’m with B there).

  4. Very, um, thorough homework :)) I’m impressed with B’s milk ration!

  5. My mother still makes pastry and cakes with margarine in preference to butter (not that she makes pastry any more now you can buy it ready-made, but when she did), as she says the texture is better. Certainly lard was always used in recipes for most of my life.

    I, too, cracked up reading his homework! Poor boy….. but it’s a lovely experiment and really helping all of you to be creative about food. My mother, when asked, said to remember that most people kept a hen or two for extra eggs, and you grew as many of your own vegetables as possible. I gather that, in fact, your son to the contrary, very many people were a great deal healthier when there was rationing simply because they could finally afford proper food!

  6. Gnome

    Poor B! I am loving this whole thing, but particularly that homework.

Leave a Reply

