ration foodblog: episode 5

To celebrate WWII day in year 6, The Boy started off the day with a large bowlful of porridge. Made by his sister. I don’t do anything that taxing before coffee. Funnily enough, Mr Fussypants actually likes porridge…

I spent an hour this afternoon teaching some of year 6 to knit. Their enthusiasm (“Did you really knit a dalek?”) was most endearing. In return, I got wartime tea, made to authentic recipes. Mmmhmmm, frighteningly authentic… These “apricot” tarts were made of mashed potato pastry, filled with carrots and jam, then topped off with fake cream made of cornflour and margarine. The carrot and jam combo could have grown on me, but the cream was nasty. Top afternoon. They were all having a ball. B advises, “When the air raid siren sounds, don’t try to shelter under the same table as Mrs A*******!”

Tea tonight was inspired by these rather beautiful borlotti beans I bought at the market on Saturday.   Aren’t they gorgeous?  I’m not entirely convinced they were common in 1940, but they are local and seasonal, so I’m going with that…

Cooked with a pound of sausages (£3.30), onion, celery, a couple of tomatoes and a pile of curly kale, with a cheating can of kidney beans thrown in for bulk. All three children declared this nasty, and flounced about their incipient starvation, but the adults approved. And there are enough leftovers for lunch tomorrow!


It’s cold tonight, and we have polished off all the apple cake and all the tarts and are now tragically cakeless.

8 Comments

Filed under food

8 responses to “ration foodblog: episode 5

  1. Hannah

    Other than the curly kale, dinner looks and sounds lovely. These posts remind me of your ‘snowed in’ cooking, I am very impressed with cooking that uses what you’ve got but doesn’t look mank! I love the ‘it was cold, we ate all the cake’ justification. I said the same about eating a biscuit at lunch time!

  2. It’s the celery I shouldn’t have liked – don’t like cooked celery at all. But the rest of it sounds nom.

  3. Actually, not the fake cream, but the rest of the rest of it! Your cooking is what sounds delicious, except for the celery!

  4. Heather

    With luck your offspring will be happier on Friday when with luck their parcel from the dominions will arrive. There is enough for them to share and the contents are according to Grandmamma authentic althoug edited I felt there would eb no gratitude for Spam or dried egg – not that dried egg appears obtainable in South East London anyway.

    Of course in 1940 you’d have probably had hens maybe B can have a few extra eggs,

  5. The knitted dalek causes great envy in all who see him… he’s currently hiding in amongst my books from Martha & Ten who are on the shelf above.

    I fear I would probably be with B on most of the food things, though your supper sounds rather delicious.

  6. katherinea

    I like both kale and celery. I fear I would not like fake cream.
    We too are bereft of cake. I blame Helen for wanting to take home some of her birthday cake.

  7. Nell

    I have cake as I baked Herman tonight and am authentically chilly tonight as still without heat. Dinner sounds delish but then sausages always do and they go so well with beans especially ones that pretty!

  8. Stella

    Cornflour and margarine!!! Bleurgh. Tea sounded much more appetising.

    You brave woman trying to teach them to knit. I’m on WW2 cooking duties in school on Friday, it’s veg soup with an added lecture on using the peelings for stock/chickens/rabbits. Apparently her ladyship’s teacher dressed up as Hitler last week, so it might be an interesting afternoon…

    I’m still recovering from making Pizza with Y3, when little lad’s teacher started to sing his own version of ‘O sole mio’ in a Mansfield/Mock Italian accent whilst tossing his pizza base in the air.

Leave a Reply

