they’re happy… (the end of rationing)

What we learnt from rationing:

-there was a lot of lard involved
-fussy children should be taken out on a remote hillside and left to die from exposure
-cooking economically costs time
 
 
 

Things I missed most were: olive oil, garlic, wine. It turns out virtually everything I cook involves these ingredients. And rice! I need risotto…

The thing I would have missed most if I hadn’t blatantly cheated: coffee.

Interestingly, although you hear a lot about meat and sugar rationing, they were pretty easy to live with. I think we ate about as much meat as we would in an ordinary week. And we would have had a couple of pounds of sugar left at the end of the week- I guess we could have stockpiled for jam making time. We were much sadder about the shortage of eggs, butter and cheese. Heather, I reckon the outlook for vegetarians was fairly dire!

3 Comments

Filed under food

3 responses to “they’re happy… (the end of rationing)

  1. Katherinea

    As a non-meat fan the meat ration never seems to bad. The butter ration OTOH… 😦

  2. Heather

    The butter ration would have filled me with woe.

    I would have had extra cheese, eggs and milk because I’d have had a vegetarian ration book and an invalids one. I’d have been entitled to about 2 pints of milk a day. Pity I hate and despise it. Considering the size of the parental garden we’d have had chickens a huge veg patch and probably a pig. Most people in that part of town did. You probably would have done too. You’d have had to grow your own garlic! Imagine too making soup by pushing it through a hair sieve. Shudders!

    However I would not have survived the war anyway. If you had B12 deficiency aneamia your life expectancy in wartime decreased from about 5 years to 2. There was virtually nothing they could do for you until they learned to synthesise injectable B12 which was post war.

    The lack of garlic, onion, wine, pasta and rice would have broken me. The sugar and meat I culd do without. I think the rationing of soap and hot water would also have hurt me badly.

  3. What was so extraordinary was that nobody had realised the UK didn’t grow its own onions! I don’t think garlic was used much, but onions certainly were, and were badly missed when they disappeared. You grew your own, of course, and you kept your own hens, and quite possibly a pig (most cottagers did anyway – the rules about slaughtering didn’t change until after 1945, at which point it all got Too Complicated, so domestic pigs became a thing of the past. But my grandparents still had chickens – I remember feeding them!).

Leave a Reply

