York oddments

I spotted a trainspotter on Sheffield station, and was charmed that he had the traditional notebook rather than a spreadsheet. Apparently stalking the trainspotter with a camera makes me a trainspotterspotter.

A huge spinning spider, outside the quilt museum.

The most stunning quilt; I wanted to bring it home. Whirligig by Lesley Hurrell. The photo was taken very quickly and surreptitiously as it is Not Allowed, but I was good and didn’t use flash. Very clever twisty triangle based log cabin construction that I don’t entirely understand.

Twisty metal thingummies outside the quilt museum. Reminded me of your young blacksmith, CT!

I love how as you walk through York’s winding streets, you catch unexpected glimpses of the Minster.

My companions causing chaos in the fudge shop. It is unclear how the conversation ranged as far and wide as the pencil museum and unicycling…

Sun going down.

Dark by 4.30.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “York oddments

  1. Am totally in love with that quilt – I really wish I’d been able to come with you but wasn’t able to 😦

  2. Heather

    So beautiful.

  3. Liz

    Looks like an excellent day out 🙂

  4. aitchemelle

    Looks like a great day! What a beautiful quilt!

Leave a Reply

