mad hatter

Ta-da!  One finished hat.

 Normal readers (actually, not sure I have any of those) may wish to stop here, but for the knitting obsessives amongst you, here are more pictures of the all-important technical details.

Close-up of the flowers.

I used 4 shades of Jamieson’s Spindrift (Autumn for flower centres, Yell Sound Blue for background stripe, Moss for leaves on blue background, Twilight for flowers on neutral background), and 3 shades of Jamieson & Smith’s 2 ply jumper weight (porridge coloured stripe, green leaves on porridge stripe and purple flowers- I can’t be bothered to look up the shade numbers, because I’m too lazy…)

The two yarns are virtually indistinguishable.  One was slightly finer, I think, maybe, but I’ve forgotten which it was, and it doesn’t seem to be noticeable now it’s knitted up.  The lady in Jamieson & Smith was nicer than the lady in Jamieson’s (who didn’t want us to mess up her nice shelves by touching), but I think Jamieson’s had the more beautiful colours.  And they did shade cards.  I have made it clear to my family that if I don’t get a shade card for my birthday, there’s going to be trouble.  Just saying, guys…

Crown decreases (I knew you’d want to see…)

The pattern is Peerie Flowers, designed by the extremely clever Kate Davies (she also writes beautifully and evocatively about her love for wild places, and it’s totally her fault I went to Shetland  at all…)  I am actually overwhelmed to the point of speechlessness by the beauty of those crown decreases.

Close-up of the inside (again, I knew you’d want to see…)  Yeah, I know, all the fashionable kids are wearing their fairisle inside out this season.  But not me.

There were A LOT of ends.  I used sewing them in as distraction from The Paperwork.

 

I think I may now be on a little fairisle hat knitting trip for some time to come…

 

 

14 Comments

Filed under crafting

14 responses to “mad hatter

  1. dawn

    That is a beautiful work of art as well as a hat

    I hate wearing hats but that is so beautiful it’s really tempting – not that I need any more knitting projects atm

  2. Oh my. Wantwantwant, nay, neeeeeeeeeeeeeed.

  3. Oh my, that is beautiful.

  4. Jo

    Oh my! Just adore your beautiful hat! Loved seeing sneaky peaks a few days ago when it was in the early stages of its creation. Nearly wept with the beauty of those gorgeous colours too – I know, pretty soppy but their gentle ‘wildness’ resonates deeply with my heart. Thank you so much for linking to Kate’s site – sigh, wonderful! Hugs xxxx

  5. Stella

    I’m with Nellie!

  6. Those ends are indeed the torture of fairisle! But the beauty of the creadion shows how worthwhile it all was. Never thought of fairisle for hats but then I’ve led a sheltered life 😉

  7. It is a very beautiful hat! I am really rather in awe – yes I COULD do one like it, but I’m not sure I’d ever bother…..

  8. Sally

    Wow. Just wow.

  9. katherinea

    That is a very beautiful hat

  10. That is indeed beautiful. Much moreso than my Twilley’s hat, which I love anyway as it keeps my ears warm.

Leave a Reply

