here and now

I’ve been grasping after a thought all week.  Of seizing the moment: appreciating it, valuing it, and living in it.  But words eluded me.  And then as we drove north yesterday, having a highly cultured discussion on poetry,  Nell put this one into my head.

The Bright Field  R S Thomas

I have seen the sun break through
to illuminate a small field
for a while, and gone my way
and forgotten it. But that was the pearl
of great price, the one field that had
treasure in it. I realize now
that I must give all that I have
to possess it. Life is not hurrying

on to a receding future, nor hankering after
an imagined past…

***

So this afternoon, on the way back home, we detoured up South Head, where this thought began, and watched the light change, as the clouds blew over.

3 Comments

Filed under memories, poetry

3 responses to “here and now

  1. This is a great poem that I am not familiar with. It led me to look up the Welsh poet and read some of his other poems. Great post. I liked the description in the last two lines, although the comma sort of threw me. Is there more?

  2. aitchemelle

    When I read this poem the first time round I thought ‘meh, poem that doesn’t rhyme, don’t get it’ (I am not a great lover of poetry you see) but having come back to it today, that last bit about Life really hit a chord with me. Thank you for sharing it Nicola 🙂

Leave a Reply

