the year of knitting greyly

The sun shone, unexpectedly, this afternoon, and I looked around and realised there was a definite grey theme to all the knitting currently lying around my house.

There’s Big Grey (I’m nearly finished knitting its endless hood. And then there’s a terrifying amount of finishing to do. I will love wearing this. I do not love the making of it…)

IMG_9661

I also have a Man Sock on the go, mostly for use in dull travelling situations. I really am totally out of love with sock knitting these days. Especially Man Socks.

IMG_3445

Now, this is one of my new projects. It’s only grey in parts. I’m very excited by it, it’s a big ongoing longterm conceptual thing that I haven’t quite worked out yet. More on this later.

IMG_9665

And finally… this is the project I’ve been picking up all day, when I should have been working. I’m eversoslightly in love with it, although it’s destined to be a gift. See how the green is subtly variegated…?

IMG_9679

3 Comments

Filed under crafting

3 responses to “the year of knitting greyly

  1. Annabel

    Big Grey is lovely, but am I allowed to ask why you don’t carry the colours up the side of the work so you don’t have all those ends to deal with later?

    • Each colour only repeats every 16 rows- no way you can carry four colours over that distance. I’ve left them all so far because I’m hoping there’s some way to get the i-cord edging to magically help to hide some of it?

  2. Annabel

    Yes you can i-cord over the ends and they will be safe and warm! And won’t unravel.

Leave a Reply

