guilty pleasures

I am ashamed to admit how much I love being home alone. My children are (of course) delightful, and (naturally) I adore their charming and lively company, but- oh! they are tiring (to be fair, some are more tiring than others… yes, I’m looking at you, Big Girl…)

I haven’t done anything extraordinary or memorable today. I read a book, cover to cover. I wandered down to the village, and browsed library and charity shops, and bought just what I wanted for lunch. I had an afternoon nap. I had spurts of domesticity (oh look, things stay tidy! how magical!) I played the music I wanted, at the volume I wanted. I cooked dinner just for me.  And I got mildly drunk on my new genius invention: gin and tonic and strawberry and elderflower.

IMG_1872

Now I’m sitting out in the garden finishing off the housewarming blanket, and watching bats.

IMG_1881

By tomorrow, even this introvert may be ready for some gentle company, but for now, I’m so very content.

6 Comments

Filed under books, crafting, food

6 responses to “guilty pleasures

  1. jo

    I love you, And your day!

  2. I’m glad you had such a lovely day, I’m sure there’s no reason to feel guilty over such pleasures. They ring a bell with me. x

  3. katherinea

    I may have to check and see if your cocktail is acceptable.

  4. Catriona

    Sounds absolutely wonderful – you deserve it!

  5. dawn

    Despite having lived partly on my own for the last few years (they will keep coming back….) I still love being in the house on my own and being able to do what I want when I want and to know that if I make the effort to tidy it will stay that way. Walking back in after 10 days away with mum was blissful – MY house MY space.
    And I discovered gin, sparkling elderflower and fresh rasps is rather nice…..

Leave a Reply

