spot on

Today, I am slightly obsessed by spots (once more… remember the spotty cushions?) Last night, I clicked on a friend’s facebook link to this tutorial, and went to bed dreaming of spotty dotty tweedy things.

This afternoon, I had a quiet hour on the sofa as sunlight poured in, and I had a go for myself. There was a definite learning curve to this technique. It needed to be taken slowly, and with care (not my personal strong points). My first attempts with fine thread were frankly hideous, so I switched to using stranded embroidery cotton. This gives a more defined edge, but I quite like the effect.

IMG_3192

I played about with size of dots, matching/ contrasting threads, and different fabrics. The main fabric is a quite loosely woven wool remnant which I picked up at Trefriw Mill in Snowdonia. Four of the spots are Harris tweeds.

IMG_3196

This last one is my favourite. It’s a scrap of felted fairisle left over from a cushion cover. I love the textures going on here. So many possibilities stemming from this one technique…

1 Comment

Filed under crafting

One response to “spot on

  1. Pingback: in the bag | serendipturas

Leave a Reply

