a week in scarves

I’ve had a little sartorial plan going on this week. Simply, to wear a different scarf each day. You see, I have a lot of scarves- a lot of very beautiful scarves- but I still tend to wear the same couple all the time.

I went through the collection for just the ones I’ve knitted since last winter which haven’t been worn yet. Hmmmm, I may have had a bit of a scarf binge over the summer…

IMG_3329

Monday morning was cold and frosty, and I wore this purple and green zigzaggy number.

IMG_3315

Tuesday’s scarf was the Yarn of Doom, which some of you may remember tormenting me at Woolfest. It did not want to be socks, however, so I tamed it with the power of linen stitch.

IMG_3318

On Wednesday, I was luxurious in purple cashmere. I don’t like the way this one stretched though- scarves which are too long and too thin are not my favourite or my best- its destiny may involve reknitting.

IMG_3319

I think Thursday’s scarf may be my new favourite. It is sparkly, and big enough to wrap up in properly.

IMG_3322

Friday’s scarf is made of silk I bought at Woolfest. The colour name was Tidepool. How could I leave it?

IMG_3324

Today’s scarf is self striping blues. It was not warm enough for the extraordinarily nasty weather we had, but it is very beautiful.

IMG_3325

I have already designated tomorrow’s scarf. It is the swirly Northern Lights one where I had to beat the striping pattern into submission. (See how I always win eventually…)

IMG_3326

I am sure it will look Just Right with uniform on parade tomorrow. Navy, with turquoise to match our neckers, it’s almost like a plan…

IMG_3328

4 Comments

Filed under knitting

4 responses to “a week in scarves

  1. I need more scarves. Although Ben has challenged me to finish knitting an eyelash blanket.

  2. Oooh, the linen stitch one is what I’m making at the moment too – though mine will be garish and rather too full of bright colours whereas yours is beautiful and stylish. 😉

    All of them are gorgeous.I never thought I would be a scarf knitter but I fear I might be at the top of a slipperly slope!

  3. katherinea

    I do like the way that linen stitch one has come out.

  4. dawn

    They are all gorgeours! Like you I tend to grab the same one (the one at the top of the heap not surprisingly) and I need to get used to making choices not just grabbing. How many stitches do you cast on for your linen stitch ones please?
    dawn

Leave a Reply

