life begins

In three months time, I’m going to be forty. I can’t wait- finally, I get to wear purple, and behave badly, with impunity. It looks like being full of interesting times. My job will almost certainly not exist this time next year. I’m choosing to think of this as an exciting and life changing opportunity, but frankly, it’s also a little bit terrifying.

I’ve been pondering ways to celebrate. I have friends who have made lists, run marathons, and danced all night. They are all good things to do, but they are not my thing (although I’m not absolutely ruling out a little list- I do love the lure of ticking things off…) Actually, there’s only one place I want to be to kick off my fifth decade, and that’s a Scottish island. I haven’t decided which one yet, but if anyone feels like sending a gift, I’d be really really happy about an appearance of the northern lights…

images

There are no specific plans yet (because I only just got around to thinking this evening). If anyone is daft enough to join me, I’d be thrilled.

11 Comments

Filed under favourite places

11 responses to “life begins

  1. I might be persuadable I want to see more of Scotland. Depends on budget, leave and presence of flush loos of course 😉

  2. dawn

    OOOOH Yes!!!!! But quite understand if it is too much hassle to try to cope with my restrictions.

  3. katherinea

    Could be interested it there are plans.

  4. I think this is an excellent plan and if work is amenable, I am up for it

  5. Catriona

    First of all, Nicola, 40 is YOUNG! And second of all, I am half way to a Scottish island already, being as how I now live in the Scottish capital!

Leave a Reply

