adventures with my sewing machine

One of my little projects for being 40 was to teach myself to sew. Properly. (Because obviously my current state of sewing is Very Improper Indeed).

Inspired by the Great British Sewing Bee (Big Daughter and I have awesome plans for an Easter holidays makeover challenge, watch this space…), I am determined to learn how to make something from a pattern which fits someone

However, it’s the end of term and I am very tired so I decided to start small, with a bag.

So this evening I sat down with the “Two Kates” bag tutorial (can’t figure out how to link… google it if you want to know) and two fat quarters of fabric, and a couple of hours later, I had a bag! With a lining! Probably the trickiest part of the whole enterprise was opening the box containing my new sewing machine.

IMG_4728

So I am now feeling ridiculously accomplished and over confident, and I have a bag! A bag! Here is the bag! showing how it can contain knitting.

IMG_4730

And here is the bag! showing off its lining!

IMG_4732

And now my thespian children have finally walked in (11.40 pm) so I can go to bed at last.

1 Comment

Filed under adventures with my sewing machine

One response to “adventures with my sewing machine

  1. Carolyn

    Awesome. I too need to master proper sewing. I did make a peg bag apron a year or two back, but not much else that is proper since.

Leave a Reply

